Chisholm, Colin

print
bookmark
comment
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
You may use the stars on the left to rate and leave feedback for the current article. No registration is required. Waiting for 5 votes 0.0 of 5 stars (0 votes) — Thanks for your vote

Please fill out the following optional information before submitting your rating:



1967-

American writer

Chisholm's adoptive mother was a half-Yup'ik [Inuit], half-Finnish woman named Inaqaq, born in a remote village on the Alaskan coast of the Bering Sea. Inaqaq's mother died aged 25 and she was fostered by an aunt for a short while, before her father took her and her brother to Washington state. He died soon afterwards, and Inaqaq was adopted by family friends, brought up near Seattle, unaware of her origins, renamed Doris Agren.

She married and had two children born to her, and then she and her husband adopted three more, including Colin (of Yugoslavian, Irish and English background), as a baby. He lives in Montana and writes for natural history and mountaineering magazines. In 1988 he visited his mother's village in Alaska. (See also his interpretation of the Bear Woman tale).

References

Chisholm, Colin. "Mama Bear: An Adopted Son Explores the Hidden Landscape of His Family," Hope (November/December 1996), repr. in UTNE Reader (March/April 1997), pp. 74-77, 101-03
Chisholm, Colin. Through Yup'ik Eyes: An Adopted Son Explores the Landscape of Family. (Portland: Alaska Northwest Books, 2000)

Indexes

European
USA
20th Century
21st Century
Journalism
Formal, American/European-Type Adoption
Others ("Strangers")
Adoptive/Foster Family Included Birth Child(ren)
Trans-Racial, Trans-Tribal, International or Trans-Cultural Adoption or Fostering
Visitor Comments (0) - Be the first to comment
Adding your comments contributes to the adoption community. Please keep all comments on topic and civil. Visitors are invited to comment and vote for or flag comments based on appropriateness and helpfulness. All comments must adhere to our commenting rules and are subject to moderation.

To see local Adoption resources, please select a location (U.S. only):


Need a Home Study?
Adoption Photolisting
Keshawn (FL / 17 / M)
Keshawn is a African-American teenager who enjoys sports and is very independent. Keshawn enjoys spending time with his friends and playing Xbox video games. Keshawn has had some... [more]
Parent Profiles
We are Keith and Mark. We promise that our thanks to you will be present every day in the way that we raise your child. We love children, and have always dreamed about becoming... [more]
Directory of Adoption Professionals
Find a professional
for all of your adoption needs including:

Note: Our authors are dedicated to honest, engaged, informed, intelligent, and open conversation about adoption. The opinions expressed here may not reflect the views of Adoption.com.

Settings Help Feedback
Template Settings
Width: 1024     1280
Choose a Location:
Choose a Theme: